Centralina Regional Council


The Centralina Regional Council

The Centralina Regional Council (Centralina) is a state­ designated lead regional organization for the area in and around Charlotte.  It serves as a conduit of grants, a staff resource for members, and a forum for local governments to address current problems and future needs. 

Established in 1968, Centralina Regional Council (Centralina) was created to serve the needs of our nine-county region, which includes Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, and Union counties. Centralina is governed by a Board of Delegates, comprised of our member governments, and is one of 16 North Carolina regional councils (Centralina is referred to as Region F) authorized by the General Assembly. Regional Councils are public organizations that address regional issues and opportunities by offering a variety of planning, coordination, program management, advocacy, and technical assistance services. These services are provided by our departments and affiliates.

The regional framework offers a neutral platform where local governments from all nine counties can come together and shape area-wide planning. As a champion for the entire region, Centralina looks at creating holistic solutions that benefit communities of all sizes and strengthen our region’s competitive advantage on the national and international stage. To carry out our mission, we work among the regional, community and individual levels.